Skip to main content

Mickey Drexler to be Honored by CFDA

CFDA president Diane von Furstenberg and Nadja Swarovski gathered in New York City on Monday to announce the 2015 CFDA Fashion Award nominees and honorees.

J.Crew Group, Inc. CEO and chairman Millard “Mickey” Drexler will receive the Founders Award, given in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert who is widely credited with putting American fashion on the map.

Betsey Johnson will be awarded with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, and Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli of Valentino will be honored with the International award for their creative contribution to the international fashion.

Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra, Marc Jacobs, Michael Kors, Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler, and Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row, are nominated for the Womenswear Designer of the Year Award. The Menswear Designer of the Year nominees are Public School’s Maxwell Osborne and Dao-Yi Chow, Marcus Wainwright and David Neville for Rag & Bone, Thom Browne, Tim Coppens and Tom Ford.

For Accessories Designer of the Year Award the nominees are Alexander Wang, Irene Neuwirth, Proenza Schouler’s Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough and Mary-Kate Olsen and Ashley Olsen for The Row and Tabitha Simmons.

Nominations for each award category are submitted by the CFDA Fashion Awards Guild, made up of more than 450 members of the CFDA, along with top fashion retailers, journalists and stylists. The award ceremony will take place June 1 at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall in New York City.