Skip to main content

Shuffle Board: Kohl’s Names COO, HSN Owner Appoints Finance Chief


Mitchell & Ness

Don C Courtesy

Nostalgic sportswear and streetwear brand Mitchell & Ness announced the appointment of Don Crawley, professionally known as Don C, as the creative director of premium products. A notable figure in streetwear culture, Don C is the founder of the “Just Don” brand and owner of the RSVP Gallery store in Chicago.

This appointment strengthens the existing relationship between Mitchell & Ness and Don C, which first partnered in 2011 with the release of luxury Just Don caps. Since then, the two have collaborated on product lines, premium apparel and headwear collections. The appointment of Don C comes on the heels of significant growth and expansion for Mitchell & Ness. Last year, the company was acquired by global digital sports platform, Fanatics, and a strategic ownership group comprised of prominent names in sports, entertainment and business. 



Kohl’s named 30-year retail veteran Dave Alves president and chief operating officer, reporting to CEO Tom Kingsbury, effective in April. Alves will be responsible for Kohl’s enterprise operations, including its nearly 1,200 stores, global supply chain and distribution centers, real estate portfolio, purchasing, sustainability, risk management and compliance functions.

Related Stories

Most recently, Alves was president and chief retail officer for Bealls Retail Group, overseeing all Bealls Stores, Bealls Outlet Stores, Burkes Outlet Stores, and Home Centric. Before Bealls, Alves held leadership roles at TJX Canada and TJX Europe, Hudson’s Bay and Sterling Shoes.

Qurate Retail Group

Bill Wafford Courtesy

Qurate Retail Group appointed Bill Wafford as its chief financial officer. Wafford has over 25 years of experience in corporate finance, management consulting and executive leadership across retail, consumer goods and digital commerce businesses. He will report to David Rawlinson II, president and CEO of Qurate Retail, Inc. James Hathaway, who has been serving as interim CFO since August 2022, will become the CFO of QVC.


Fashion apparel retailer Express announced the retirement of the company’s president and chief operating officer, Matthew Moellering, effective May 5. The company has retained executive search and leadership advisory firm Spencer Stuart to conduct an external search for Moellering’s replacement.

Moellering has been with Express since 2003 and was appointed to his current position in September 2019. He served as interim CFO from October 2021 to March 2022 and interim CEO and president from January –through June 2019; was appointed as COO in 2011 and previously served as CAO and CFO from 2009 to 2011, and CFO from 2007 to 2009. He was an instrumental member of the executive leadership team that took the Company public in May 2010.


Union Pacific Corporation

Union Pacific Corporation CEO Lance Fritz will step down at the end of the year. The rail giant’s board of directors expects to name a successor who will assume the position before the year is over.



Santeri Heinoen has been appointed as a member of the Spinnova management team and chief human resources officer. He will report to CEO Kim Poulsen, starting his position at the latest on May 2. Before joining the Finland-based sustainable textile material company, Heinonen held several positions in PR at Valmet. Currently, he holds the senior manager, global talent development position in the talent management team.


The American Apparel & Footwear Association 

The American Apparel & Footwear Association (AAFA) announced the renewal of its board of directors leadership and the addition of 16 new and re-elected board members.

The following individuals were confirmed as AAFA’s board of directors leadership for the 2023-2024 term: Ted Dagnese of Lululemon Athletica as chair, Josue Solano of BBC International as vice chair, Halide Alagoz of Ralph Lauren Corporation as secretary, and Katherine Gold of Goldburg as treasurer. Newly elected individuals include Danilo Amoretty of Carhartt, Lydie Ke of Luen Thai USA, David Savman of PVH Corp. and Todd Soller of Patagonia.

Re-elected board members include Chris Alt of American and Efird, Colin Browne of Under Armour, Kurt Cavano of Nimbly, Killick Datta of Global Brand Partners, Mike Faircloth of Hanesbrands, Oscar Feldenkreis of Perris Ellis International, Mark Gitomer of Production Department, Stan Jewell of Renfro Brands, Jason Kra of Li & Fung, Alan Luchette of Marc Fisher Footwear, Rocky Price of Fruit of the Loom, Chris Volpe of United Legwear & Apparel Co. and Karen Smith of Carters.