Skip to main content

Find Out Who’s on AAFA’s List for Retail’s Person of the Year and Company of the Year


American Apparel & Footwear Association

The American Apparel & Footwear Association is honoring four industry leaders for elevating apparel and footwear with their groundbreaking initiatives.

On Monday, the AAFA announced that it will honor individuals and companies, including—Person of the Year Manny Chirico, chairman and CEO of PVH Corp., Company of the Year Camuto Group, Retailer of the Year Fred Segal and Designer of the Year Joseph Altuzarra—at the 2018 AAFA American Image Awards Gala, which will take place on April 16 in New York City.

“The AAFA American Image Awards celebrate those that epitomize leadership and innovation in the apparel and footwear industry,” AAFA CEO and president Rick Helfenbein said. “This is an opportunity to honor the finest individuals and organizations throughout the entire supply chain, including designers, manufacturers and trendsetters.”

PVH Corp. CEO and chairman Manny Chirico will be honored with AAFA’s Person of the Year Award. Chirico, a seasoned apparel veteran, has been with PVH for more than 20 years, where he has served as the company’s CEO for 11 years and chairman for 10. Under Chirico’s leadership, PVH Corp. has grown its presence as a global apparel authority with its diverse portfolio of brands, including Calvin Klein and Tommy Hilfiger.

As AAFA’s Company of the Year honoree, Camuto Group is advancing the global women’s footwear sector with its advanced design, development and distribution efforts. The company, which is known for its trendy boots, shoes and sandals, currently operates more than 5,400 distribution points worldwide. The award will be accepted by company CEO Alex Del Cielo.

[Read more about apparel industry leaders: BF+DA Positive Impact Awards Acknowledge Apparel’s Sustainability Leaders]

California-based company Fred Segal will be honored with AAFA’s Retailer of the Year award. Founded more than 50 years ago in West Hollywood, Fred Segal today remains well-known for its ability to provide form-fitting, fashion-forward apparel for consumers worldwide and for opening the first jeans-only store. Fred Segal now operates a handful of stores in Los Angeles and Japan. Accepting the award on behalf of Fred Segal will be the company’s CEO Allison Samek and president John Frierson.

Luxury designer Joseph Altuzarra will receive AAFA’s Designer of the Year award. Since launching his label in 2008, Altuzarra’s unique accessories and ready-to-wear apparel have enabled women to step up the luxury in their wardrobes.

Related Stories

Since 2017, AAFA has teamed up with the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CDFA) Foundation, a not-for-profit organization that supports domestic fashion initiatives, to serve as its gala beneficiary. Together, the AAFA and CFDA Foundation aim to positively impact the apparel and footwear sectors, while fortifying industry leaders who are paving the way for a more sustainable, innovative and positive future.