Skip to main content

DHL European Units Set to Launch New Delivery Services

DHL has created two new delivery platforms for its European customers.

DHL Paket is launching a new service that will simplify shipping for business customers by delivering international parcels bound for European destinations to drop-off locations such as parcel lockers or parcel shops. Another new service called Postal Delivered Duty Paid, or Postal DDP, will be introduced for those business customers for which international export parcels are subject to customs duties. With this option, business customer shippers handle all the import duties and taxes for their recipient customers.

Under the DHL Paket program, all business customers have to do is select the new delivery option, Closest Droppoint, with no drop-off location need be chosen at time of posting, as this is taken care of by DHL’s delivery partners in the destination country.

The new service offers business customers a range of benefits. The Droppoint delivery is not only easy to order, it also tends to be cheaper than shipping to a home address. In addition, customers can be assured that parcels will reach their destination on the first delivery attempt.

The service will be available starting Sept. 1 for shipments to Denmark only, with Austria joining in November, and Belgium, Sweden and Finland starting in January. The new service will also offer more flexibility, allowing business customers to decide on a parcel-by-parcel basis whether they want items delivered to the Closest Droppoint or the home address. The service is to be extended to further European countries in the following months.

The Postal DDP program not only avoids recipients being surprised by customs clearance charges upon delivery, it also gives business customers the benefit of a faster delivery process, as all fees are paid up front during the ordering process by the customer. Postal DDP can also be booked starting Sept. 1 for parcels shipped to the U.K., not including Northern Ireland. Other destination countries such as Norway, Iceland and Switzerland are set to follow.