Facebook Pinterest Search Icon SourcingJournal_horiz Tumbler Twitter Shape photo-camera graph-trend Shape latest-news icon / user

US Removes Swaziland, Reinstates Madagascar for AGOA Benefits

Where are fashion’s priorities? How sustainability will fare post pandemic is just one of many open questions. Join SJ on July 15 at 11 am for a webinar on how the crisis will affect future sourcing decisions and how to better measure progress.

President Obama issued June 26 a proclamation making two changes to the list of sub-Saharan African countries eligible for benefits under the African Growth and Opportunity Act.

Madagascar, which had been removed from AGOA on Jan. 1, 2010, following a coup the previous year, has been reinstated effective June 26 in recognition of its return to democratic rule and its president’s commitment to promoting transparency, combating corruption and beginning to rebuild the country’s economy.

Swaziland will be removed as of Jan. 1, 2015, after the U.S. concluded that there has been insufficient progress toward the protection of internationally recognized worker rights, citing in particular the government’s “use of security forces and arbitrary arrests to stifle peaceful demonstrations and the lack of legal recognition for labor and employer federations.” U.S. Trade Representative Mike Froman said the U.S. hopes to continue engagement with Swaziland in hopes of improving the worker rights situation and eventually restoring AGOA eligibility.



This article originally appeared in the Sandler, Travis & Rosenberg Trade Report, a daily e-newsletter covering the international trade agreements and global laws, regulations, policies and procedures that affect the importation and exportation of goods around the world. To receive a free subscription, click here.

Related Articles

More from our brands

Access exclusive content Become a Member Today!